Filthy Friends


Sale price Price $25.00 Regular price Unit price  per 

Shipping calculated at checkout.

• DEBUT ALBUM FROM SUPER GROUP WITH CORIN TUCKER (Sleater-Kinney, Heavens To Betsy), PETER BUCK (R.E.M.), SCOTT McCAUGHEY (Minus 5, Young Fresh Fellows), KURT BLOCH (Fastbacks) and BILL RIEFLIN (Ministry, King Crimson).

Filthy Friends is the sound of music being made free of expectations, free of fear for how it will be received, free of any and all bullshit that has become lingua franca of the modern music industry. They are the product of likeminded individuals with nothing to prove getting together and making a heroic racket together that finds space for their many influences and interests.

The band is lucky in that regard. Their legacies in the music world are comfortably secured. Lead singer Corin Tucker has left an indelible mark on the punk scene through her memberships in Sleater-Kinney and Heavens to Betsy. Guitarist Kurt Bloch has logged a lot of hours as the leader of The Fastbacks, as well as serving as a producer/mentor for up and coming Seattle rock groups. Drummer Bill Rieflin has a fine day job as one of the drummers in King Crimson. Bassist Scott McCaughey keeps plenty busy doing studio work and mining the power pop underground with his long-running band the Young Fresh Fellows. As for the other guitarist Peter Buck...if you’re unfamiliar with him, you haven’t been paying attention to the last 30 years of alternative/college/indie rock. (Stage whisper: He used to be in R.E.M.)

The 12-song collection works through a flurry of different moods and styles, genre exercises and joyous experiments. The intricate guitar knots and blasts of bubblegum pop of Buck’s beloved Television are all over the herky-jerky “Windmill.” A mashup of ‘60s downer vibes and rootsy rumblings makes up the marvelous “Second Life” whereas “Come Back Shelley” is all swagger and glitz in the style of a lost glam rock 45. There ain’t nothing this band can’t do with the wet clay of rock music and what they sculpt out of it is pure art.

1. Despierta
2. Windmill
3. Faded Afternoon
4. Any Kind of Crowd
5. Second Life
6. The Arrival

7. Come Back Shelley
8. No Forgotten Son
9. Brother
10. You and Your King
11. Makers
12. Invitation

Cat. No. KRS638
Release date: August 25, 2017